Expert Group on Children at Risk

The Expert Group on Children at Risk acts as convenor, driver, initiator, coordinator and facilitator to stimulate dialogue and exchange on cross-border concerns, to develop and nurture strategic partnerships and to contribute to the development and implementation of tangible projects.

We engage national, regional and global actors to exchange information on emerging, developing and ongoing initiatives, to explore joint opportunities and to engage key stakeholders in practical projects. This work effectively contributes to ensuring that potential overlaps are transformed into helpful synergies, trusted partnerships and joint and harmonised action.

Our work draws on, and contributes to relevant legal and policy frameworks, authoritative guidance, ethical and safe data collection and the voices of children and youth. We take note of relevant global, regional and the Expert Group members’ national agendas, goals and strategies, to ensure strategic direction, complementarity and added value in achieving global, regional and national commitments to children.


The Expert Group is the governing body of the Children at Risk Unit at the Council of the Baltic Sea States Secretariat.


The Expert Group is the governing body of the Children at Risk Unit at the Council of the Baltic Sea States Secretariat. It meets at least twice a year, develops the mandate, budget and yearly plan of activities that are implemented by the Children at Risk Unit.


The Expert Group consists of senior officials from the line ministries dealing with children’s issues or designated agencies in the Member States of the Council of the Baltic Sea States plus the European Commission. The chairmanship rotates on an annual basis and follows the CBSS Presidency rotation.

  • Finland: Marjo Malja, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health
  • Estonia: Kadi Lauri, Social Insurance Board
  • Denmark: Merete Bonde Jørgensen, Danish Authority of Social Services and Housing  
  • Germany: Almut Hornschild & Anna Maria Lemcke, Ministry of Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth
  • Iceland: Ólöf Ásta Farestveit, The National Agency for Children and Families
  • LatviaLauris Neikens, Ministry of Welfare
  • Lithuania: Daina Urbonaitienė, Ministry of Social Security and Labour
  • Norway: Unni Nygaard, Norwegian Directorate for Children, Youth and Family Affairs
  • Poland: Katarzyna Napiórkowska, Ministry of Family and Social Policy
  • Sweden: Andrea Hormazabal, National Board of Health and Welfare